Another Case for Why Social Media ROCKS!

4 09 2009

TECH Cocktail, originally uploaded by StarrGazr.

I have been a part of this thing we now call Social Media long before the term was coined and I am continually surprised at how much good can come from not the tools we use, but the people who use them.

Back in July I was vacationing in Ogunquit, Maine. While there, I dropped my spare set of keys without even realising it. After getting home, I checked my voicemail only to hear a call from my local library saying that someone had found my keys near the public restrooms in Perkins Cover and had turned them in to a gift shop across the street. I called the gift shop and it was obvious that this kind lady would not want to be sending my keys through the mail so I told her I would be up to pick them up and please hold them for me. There was still plenty of summer left to make the trek.

I never made it.

Last Friday, I saw a tweet from someone saying that the electronic signs over the highway in Massachusetts said, “From the People of Massachusetts, Thank You Ted Kennedy”. I thought that was pretty cool and retweeted his tweet. From that we got to talking and he seemed interesting enough and I followed him.

Fast forward a few days and I asked David S. Greene (@GreeneMeansGo) if he was going to be going to TECH Cocktail in Boston. He said he would like to but he was going to be in Maine just prior to that. My ears perked up, “Maine? Where in Maine?” Yup, you guess it! Ogunquit!

“Hey would you mind doing me a favour?”

To make a long story short, he said he would be in Perkins Cove on Wednesday and would be happy to pick up my keys and bring them to TECH Cocktail on Thursday night. We exchanged phone numbers and email addresses and on Wednesday afternoon I get a call from David, “Do you drive a Mercedes? I’ve got your keys!”

Last night, the first person I met at TECH Cocktail was David, holding my keys. After two months of trying to get back up to Maine, I was in possession of my keys that had been picked up and delivered by someone I didn’t even know existed a week ago.

How cool is that?!

So, there’s my Follow Friday endorsement for @GreeneMeansGo with an added message. You just never know what avenues are open to you if you don’t put yourself out there and extend a little trust. People are amazing and we can do amazing things together.

THANK YOU DAVID!

Not just for my keys, but for your friendship.


Actions

Information

4 responses

4 09 2009
Gina Spadafori

Great story!

4 09 2009
David

My pleasure! Karma is a wonderful thing indeed.

4 09 2009
Welcome! | The Lutheran Review

[…] Another Case for Why Social Media ROCKS! « Things Are Looking Up… […]

5 09 2009
Leslie Poston

TLC, you rule.🙂

Leave a Reply

