Don’t Trash That Mac

25 09 2009
Schlock., originally uploaded by –nathan.

Do you have a computer that is just hanging around collecting dust? One that you are kind of attached to, but don’t really know why because you haven’t even booted the thing in months? Do you have a computer that you have been wanting to send back or bring in to recycle and just haven’t gotten around to it?

Well, if you answered yes (or even maybe) to any of those questions, perhaps I can help!

I have started a program at my daughter’s small school that brings Social Media and Web 2.0 technologies to fifth and sixth graders. The students are LOVING the class and are really excited to get into blogging, podcasting, streaming video, etc. But there’s a problem…

The classrooms for these kids were moved to another building. In this building is a small computer lab — very small. The computers were just updated and made available for the kids to use this week (we spent the first two weeks talking about internet safety and security). They were thrilled, as was I until I found out that there are only five computers for them to use and out of those five, only two connect out to the net. Two of the computers are original Bondi Blue iMacs. The other one that isn’t online is an iMacDV.

Putting my thinking cap on, I had the kids type up their bios on the computers figuring I could pull the text files off with my Gigglebot mimobot flash drive. Well, the Bondi Blue iMacs just wouldn’t recognize the flash drives. Could it be the OS 9 that they are running? :::sigh:::

It wasn’t too bad with the sixth graders. There are only seven students in that class. But there are 12 fifth graders which made for some really tight computing quarters.

So here’s the deal, if you have a computer you would like to donate to our small little lab, I can arrange to pay for its transportation to Southern New Hampshire and can send you a donation receipt to make your gift tax deductible. Other benefits are yet to be determined.

I would love to show these kids first hand the power of social media and how this great online community is ever ready to help. Please give it some thought and let me know if you can help.

Thank You!

Sincerely,

Tracy Lee


Actions

Information

One response

4 11 2009
Social Media, Web 2.0 and Kids… Oh My! – SNHParents Blog

[…] been focused on writing and typing up bios for each of the children. As our lab is no online in a very small capacity it is going to take us a little time in getting all the pieces online and running smoothly, but we […]

Leave a comment